The Layers of #Grief, #Loss + #Death

💔😢 Everyone’s response to grief, loss and death will look different.

🤔 Did you realize that there are layers to grief, loss and death?

Yes, there are levels. 🔝↩︎ → 🧗🏾‍♀️

Merriam Webster defines grief as deep sorrow, especially that caused by someone's death. The second definition of grief is trouble or annoyance. Merriam defines trouble as the quality or state of being troubled especially mentally.

For many years I didn’t realize that the death of my mother caused the loss of what I knew as a “normal life”. Losing her rocked my world and left me in an ongoing state of grief.

What I knew to be routine and normal changed.

I grieved silently while struggling with my purpose for living for many years.

Processing my emotions about grief was hard (especially during the holidays). I lost my mother but I was also grieving the loss of family’s holiday tradition — I was grieving my life as I used to know it.

Did you know that you can grieve because of the loss of things other than death?

Loss of any kind triggers grief.

Strategy Saturdays with ShaBree Ewusi

Last week during my Strategy Saturdays I shared 10 layers of grief that you may not have realized.

  1. Family

  2. Health

  3. Employment 

  4. Marriage

  5. Friendship

  6. Siblings

  7. Finances

  8. Childbearing

  9. Physical 

  10. Tradition

The emotions behind losses like these will surface especially during the Holiday season. The holidays were hard for me until I learned that I AM capable of THRIVING and creating MY new normal.

Watch the replay for strategies to THRIVE During the Holidays despite Grief + Loss. 🌱

Today I Affirm: As I celebrate this holiday season, I’ll try my best to be gentle with myself + others. I’ll show genuine kindness, love + light in what is a dark time for so many of us.
— ShaBree Ewusi